Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistani leader added to UN Sanctions list

Pratik Purswani, International Affairs Officer

19 Jul 2020

On 16 July 2020, the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Sanctions Committee on Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) Da’esh and Al-Qaida added Pakistan’s Tehrik-e-Taliban (TTP) leader, Mufti Noor Wali Mehsud, to its sanctions list.

Mehsud’s listing occurred, pursuant to UNSC Resolution 2368 (2017), for “participating in the financing, planning, facilitating or perpetrating of acts or activities by, in conjunction with, under the name of, or in support of” entities associated with Al-Qaida. The sanctions include asset freezes, travel bans and arms embargos.

Tehrik-e-Taliban, the primary Taliban group in Pakistan, has claimed responsibility for numerous deadly terror attacks across the country. These include an attack targeting Pakistani security forces in North Waziristan in July 2019 and a bomb attack against Pakistani soldiers in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in August 2019. The TTP group also claimed responsibility for an attempted bombing in Times Square in May 2010.

Mehsud, 42, was named as leader of the TTP in June 2018 following the death of former TTP leader, Maulana Fazlullah. He was also designated as a terrorist domestically in the United States in September 2019.

Read the UN press release here: https://www.un.org/press/en/2020/sc14256.doc.htm