International Violence and Harassment Convention Goes Into Force

Ahmed Farooq, International Law Officer

24 Jun 2021

The treaty sets international legal standards for addressing violence and harassment in the workplace. According to a report by Human Rights Watch, the main obligations for governments under the framework of the treaty entail running information campaigns, committing to enforcement, and providing accessible remedies for victims.

There are six countries that have ratified the treaty so far. These include Argentina, Ecuador, Fiji, Namibia, Somalia, and Uruguay. Certain countries, such as France, Italy, and Spain are in the final stages of ratification.

At the same time, however, it is clear that there exists a need for more countries to ratify the treaty. Human Rights Watch draws attention to the contradiction between the United Kingdom’s role in shaping the global fight against gender-based violence and its failure to ratify the treaty so far. Similarly, Uganda, which played a key role during the negotiation stage of the treaty, has not yet ratified it. It is imperative that more countries continue to ratify the treaty in an effort to battle workplace violence.

Read more about the ILO Convention here: